The Cameo Cinema is one of the oldest in Scotland still in operation. Opened in 1914 in Tollcross, it was originally called the King’s Cinema, after the nearby King’s Theatre; it was re-named The Cameo in 1949.
Originally a one screen affair showing silent movies accompanied by a live orchestra, the Cameo was wired for sound in 1930 and over the years two more screens were added. Family run until the 80s, it is now owned by the Picturehouse group.
Amazingly almost all of the original interior decoration is intact, from the ticket booths and snack kiosk in the foyer right through to the delicate arches and plasterwork in the main auditorium which make it a unique and atmospheric place to watch a film. And the seats are pretty comfy too!
They have an eclectic programme, covering the latest mainstream releases, along with foreign language, indie, arthouse, documentary and classic screenings. There’s a kids club every Sunday too.
The Cameo was the first cinema in Edinburgh to obtain a drinks licence and the bar is a great spot for post movie dissection and debate.
Address: 38 Home St, EH3 9LZ
Phone: +44 871 902 5723